The temples and palaces in Nepal come in three main styles:

1. Pagoda Style 2. Shikhara (Sikhara) Style 3. Mughal Style.

Following are some examples of the three styles.

All pictures are © Dr. Günther Eichhorn, unless otherwise noted.

Architecture Styles

Pagoda Style Nyatapola Temple
Pagoda style. Nyatapola Temple in Bhaktapur. (744k)
Pagoda Style Maju Deval
Pagoda style (Maju Deval, three-storied temple in center) and Sikhara style (Ardhanarishvara, small white temple) in Kathmandu Durbar Square. (735k)
Sikhara Style Vatsala Devi
Sikhara Style. Vatsala Devi Temple in Bhaktapur Durbar Square. (763k)
Mix Sikhara Style Pagoda
Mix of Sikhara style and Pagoda style in Kathmandu Durbar Square. (642k)
Mughal Style Temple Kathmandu
Mughal style temple in Kathmandu Durbar Square. (877k)
Small Mughal Style Shrine
Small Mughal style shrine in Bhaktapur. (873k)

This page contains 6 pictures

Main page for नेपाल (Nepal)

Page last updated on Sun Mar 10 16:07:39 2019 (Mountain Standard Time)

Architecture Styles on

© Dr. Günther Eichhorn
Email Guenther Eichhorn

*Dr. Günther Eichhorn Travel Website
*Soaring website